Buy a Yamaha YZ-125

At eight years old my dad got me the greatest birthday present ever, a dirt bike! This was the happiest moment of my life. Finally I had been presented with what I truly desired for such a long time. It took me three days to learn how to shift gears and use a clutch. I had never put that much energy into something before.  As I grew older I honed my skills as a rider.

During the summer of 2015 I purchased a 2008 Yamaha YZ-125. I had never ridden a two-stroke up until that point, and I was very excited to give it a try. Unfortunately, the YZ-125 has a very tall seat height. I am 5ft 7in and the seat height of the bike is 39in. So getting on/off the bike was pretty difficult. Once I sat on the bike and got going, it was fantastic.

Initially learning how to use a two-stroke power band was a little difficult, but after an hour or two it was very easy to use. I loved the way the power of that bike would come on. Twist the throttle, and instant throttle response in the power band. Once you get it right, its an absolute blast.

The handling of the bike was amazing as well. When I would ride through the trails, I could basically turn the bike in any direction I wanted without running into any issues. It climbed over rocks and broken branches like a champ. I think this was due to the fact that the bike weighed 190 pounds dry, and the suspension was set up perfectly for my weight. Also on jumps, whoops, and burms it was amazing. One time I got to carried away off one jump and I was flying through the air like I was doing a whip. I didn’t have enough time to bring it back, and I landed sideways. I’m convinced that on any other bike, I would’ve fallen, but the YZ kept me in check and I was fine.

Maintenance on the YZ-125 is pretty easy, but important to keep up on. After every ride, I would clean the air filter and air box. It’s really important to keep that area clean, because you don’t want dirt/dust to get into your engine. After cleaning my filter, I would make sure that the contact point between the filter and box was greased up, to ensure no dust travels in. I would change the gearbox oil every seven rides, so it would be smooth as possible.

I would recommend this bike to anyone who’s had a little dirt biking experience, and wants to have fun with some manageable power.unnamed

Leave a Reply

